"ReadySetResearch!": Free Image & Video Resources

Photo and Print Collections. Check this page for Rights
http://www.loc.gov/rr/print/res/rights.html

Pages on other web sites that display content hosted on flickr.com must provide a link from each photo or video back to its page on Flickr. This provides a way to get more information about the content and the photographer.

Creative Commons Search for images, sounds, video

A friendly license allows teachers and students to use up to 50 educational clipart items in a single, non-commercial project without further permission.

From DK Publishing - Royalty Free Stock Photography & Illustrations - Rights Managed Images

World's public photography archives. Pages on other web sites that display content hosted on flickr.com must provide a link from each photo or video back to its page on Flickr. This provides a way to get more information about the content and the photographer.

Historic Photos and Historic Newspapers

1860s to 1970s. Look for "For personal non-commercial use only"

Historical maps for students and teachers. A friendly license allows teachers and students to use up to 25 maps in non-commercial school projects without further permission.

You can search, browse, share, and download images

National Oceanic & Atmospheric Administration. Credit MUST be given to the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration/Department of Commerce. Where a photographer is noted, please credit the photographer and his/her affiliated organization as well.

Explore 911,344 items digitized from The New York Public Library's collections.This site is a living database with new materials added every day, featuring prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more.

One Hundred Years of Photography from the National Archives. Generally, materials produced by Federal agencies are in the public domain and may be reproduced without permission. However, not all materials appearing on this website are in the public domain. Some materials have been donated or obtained from individuals or organizations and may be subject to restrictions on use.

Use these free backgrounds, templates, letters, frames, and buttons for school presentations, websites, class newsletters, digital scrapbooking, and student portfolios. Thousands of presentation elements and millions of combinations allow you to customize your school projects, electronic scrapbook, or eportfolio. A friendly license allows teachers and students to use up to 50 items in a single, non-commercial project without further permission.

Digital images from books of the Smithsonian Institution Libraries. Point to "Explore the Collections." Not to be used if work published online

U.S. Geological Survey

Standards-based education material covering a broad range of subjects.

Professionally developed programming for K-12 classrooms by Annenberg Media.

Video interviews with 600+ thought leaders in a range of fields.

Lectures taught by world-class professors and reinforced through interactive exercises.

Access 2500+ Online Courses from 140 Institutions.

Offers a diverse selection of courses from leading European universities.

Professional and user-generated how-to videos.

Self-paced learning with extensive video library, interactive challenges, and assessments. Sign up to start.

Professional video lessons in mathematics. Covers basic math through calculus.

Lectures and course materials for students, teachers, and self-learners.

5000+ educational games & videos for kids

Explore 911,344 items digitized from The New York Public Library's collections.This site is a living database with new materials added every day, featuring prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more.

Guide to the best sources of free medical videos, including procedures, operations, and lectures.

Free access to a selection of introductory Yale courses.

Free videos from your favorite PBS programs, including NOVA and Frontline.

Video sharing platform for schools featuring original content created by students.

Online aggregator of educational videos.

Fascinating presentations by the world's leading thinkers and doers.

YouTube.com/learning is a destination designed to offer teens and adults quality learning content. Here you will find playlists that spark your curiosity and content ranging in subjects from physics to filmmaking.

Over 250 films. Watch full films online, download teacher’s guides.

Several hundred early motion pictures are viewable in the Library of Congress' American Memory collections.

Database of and index to 5000+ full text, audio and video versions of public speeches, sermons, legal proceedings, lectures, debates, interviews, other recorded media events, and a declaration or two.

Part of the Annenberg Foundation, Annenberg Media uses media and telecommunications to advance excellent teaching in American schools. The Learner.org web site provides access to many of the exceptional educational video programs developed with grant money as telecourses, including series on algebra, art, chemistry, economics, film, history, poetry, and foreign languages, among others.

Contains all C-SPAN programs since 1987, indexed, abstracted.

Creative Commons Search for images, sounds, video

Provides access to online films, texts, images, and audio recordings related to the Civil Rights movement in the United States in the 1950's and 1960's.

Contains multimedia videos highlighting the U.S. Department of Energy's scientific research. State-of-the-art audio indexing and speech recognition technology allows the user to search for specific words and phrases spoken by the presenter in these video files. Simply enter a term and the results list will point to the precise snippets of the video where the term was spoken.

Complete episodes of a large selection of films from the acclaimed PBS public affairs serie

Thousands of free videos in 13 subject areas

Videos in the Archive are organized into 15 broad sub-categories: Animation and Cartoons, Arts & Music, Computers & Technology, Cultural & Academic Films, Ephemeral Films, Home Movies, Movies, News & Public Affairs, Open Source Movies, Spirituality & Religion, Sports Videos, Video Games, Vlogs, and Youth Media.

"With over 3,100 videos on everything from arithmetic to physics, finance, and history and hundreds of skills to practice, we're on a mission to help you learn what you want, when you want, at your own pace."

5000+ educational games & videos for kids

Provides access to selected programs from the acclaimed PBS science series. Subject areas: Anthropology, Disasters, Earth, Exploration, Flight, Health, History, Investigations, Nature, Physics & Math, Space, and Technology.

Explore 911,344 items digitized from The New York Public Library's collections.This site is a living database with new materials added every day, featuring prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more.

1000 free audio books, 800 free ebooks, 200 free textbooks

Developed by PBS, WNET, and KET, and 31 other PBS stations. Content contributed from publicly funded organizations, including the National Archives, the Library of Congress and NPR, NASA, the National Science Foundation, the National Institutes of Health and the US Department of Education, delivers thousands of resources for use in the classroom and with home-schoolers.

Provides a selection of full length films, short films, and lesson plan based clips from the acclaimed PBS documentary film series POV.

SafeShare makes it easy to generate web pages containing a video from YouTube or Vimeo, but without any advertisements, annotations, or links to other potentially inappropriate videos. Our "SafeViews" ensure that your viewers can watch your video free of distractions, which is especially important in an educational setting.

Online aggregator of teacher-made educational videos.

Hundreds of TEDTalks are now available, with more added each week. All of the talks feature closed captions in English, and many feature subtitles in various languages. Riveting talks by remarkable people.

CATEGORIES
9/11, Art & Artists, Biography, Business & Economics, Comedy, Crime, Drugs, Environment, Health, History, Media, Military & War, Music, Mystery
Nature, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Politics, Psychology, Religion. Science, Sexuality, Society, Sports, Technology

Videos for kids to learn from. Organized.

Provides online access to unique and historically important content produced by the public television and radio station WGBH. The ever-expanding site contains video, audio, images, searchable transcripts, and resource management tools, all of which are available for individual and classroom learning.

Free movies, TV shows, audiobooks, comics, and music albums. Enjoy on your computer (streaming) or through the Hoopla app for Android or iOS devices (stream or download). Library-funded.

Free Citation Generator for MLA, CSE, APA, Harvard, Chicago + Styles. Set up an account to save sources.