Black American Studies: African American History Primary Sources & Megasites

The Zine Guide @ Berea College. Amazing primary source resources!

U of Washington. A research guide to primary and secondary sources for African American history.

BlackPast. African American history in the West extends over five centuries in a land mass that comprises approximately sixty percent of the United States. This site is a gateway to the vast and growing array of information on the Web and in other sources on the lives and histories of the millions of African Americans who have and continue to make the West their home.

Library of Congress, American Memory collection. Includes:
- African-American Odyssey: A Quest for Full Citizenship
- The Frederick Douglass Papers at the Library of Congress
- Jackie Robinson and Other Baseball Highlights, 1860s-1960s
- Born in Slavery: Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers' Project, 1936-1938
- From Slavery to Freedom: The African-American Pamphlet Collection, 1822-1909
- Slaves and the Courts, 1740-1860

Did you know that there are hundreds of historic images available online from the Black Archives collection? There are photos of famous persons, church groups, civil rights activists, athletes and more. Notable collections include numerous photographs of the Alvin Ailey dance troupe, Buffalo Soldiers and the Tuskegee Airmen.

Google Arts & Culture. Google has gathered together a vast collection of more than 4,000 online primary sources including documents, photographs, and other artifacts that illustrate African American history.

Events, Institutions, Groups & Organizations, People, Primary Documents, Speeches, Perspectives, African-America Museums, Newspaper/Magazines/Journals, African American History Research Guides & Websites

Some of the most significant orations by African Americans with links to the actual speeches.

Provides access to online films, texts, images, and audio recordings related to the Civil Rights movement in the United States in the 1950's and 1960's.

a virtual exhibit of the history of Hartford's African-American community from 1638 to the present. It is based on exhibits that were mounted at the Charter Oak Cultural Center, Connecticut Historical Society, and the Pavilion in downtown Hartford, but differs from them to some extent in both theme and content.

Cultivate positive identity formation, encourage students to confront racial and ethnic injustice, and prepare them to live and work together in a diverse world. Our resources can help you facilitate discussions about race and guide students through lessons on white privilege, economic inequality, mass incarceration, the complexities of identity and more.

U of Virginia. An archive about the racial segregation laws, or the 'Jim Crow' laws from the late 1880s until the mid-twentieth century. The focus of the collection is the town of Charlottesville in Virginia.

The Zine Guide @ Berea College

U of Washington. Use this to learn about the vital history of Seattle's civil rights movements, with scores of video oral histories, hundreds of rare photographs, documents, movement histories, and personal biographies.

Library of Congress and GBH Archives. Presents educational and noncommercial radio programs from the 1950s and 1960s that offer historic testimonies – in interviews, speeches, and on-the-spot news reports – from many movement participants, both well-known and unknown. National leaders, local leaders, community organizers, students, clergy, lawyers, educators, academics, writers, and even a comedian and a documentary filmmaker relate often riveting stories that document a range of individual and group experiences and perspectives. The exhibit presents accounts from a variety of locales, each a distinct piece of the complex history of the struggle to integrate the segregated South and achieve full citizenship rights for African Americans.

Encyclopedia Virginia. Primary Documents, Entries, Biographies

Encyclopaedia Britannica

PBS 4-part series

History.com

The following are short descriptions of major events which have contributed to the shaping of African American history. These encyclopedia entries serve as a starting point for much more inclusive descriptions and discussions that appear in other sources. For additional information please consult the print or website sources cited in the entry.

The site includes profiles of each hero, as well as podcasts and videos.

Free Citation Generator for MLA, CSE, APA, Harvard, Chicago + Styles. Set up an account to save sources.