Skip to Main Content

5 Steps to Research!: Step 1: Types of Sources

Use independently or as a class--5 basic steps to research

1. Types of Sources

Types of Sources

  • Library Sources: Primary, Secondary, Tertiary, Print, Audio, Video
  • Online Internet Sources: Primary, Secondary, Tertiary, Print, Audio, Video
  • Other Sources: Interviews, Radio, TV, Film, Performances
Tertiary sources of information are based on a collection of primary and secondary sources.
Examples of tertiary sources include:
  • textbooks (sometimes considered as secondary sources)
  • dictionaries and encyclopedias.
  • manuals, guidebooks, directories, almanacs.
  • indexes and bibliographies.

4. Primary & Secondary Sources

Understanding Primary & Secondary Sources

STEP 1: TYPES OF SOURCES

Step 1 Types of Sources Overview

In this module you will learn about:

  1. Types of sources
  2. Characteristics of library resources
  3. Characteristics of Internet resources
  4. Primary & Secondary sources
  5. Wikipedia for Research?

3. Characteristics of Internet Sources

Internet Sources

Although many people first go to the Internet for information, it is not always the best place for what you need. 

Most information on the free Internet does not go through a review process

  • Anyone can publish on the Internet without passing the content through an editor. Pages might be written by an expert on the topic, a journalist, a disgruntled consumer or even a child.

Most information on the Internet is not free

  • Many web pages are free to view, but some commercial sites will charge a fee to access their information.
  • Libraries and other institutions pay fees for access to information for their users. This is a part of the "deep" or "invisible" web as you need passwords. These are the sources you should use first! 

Information on the free Internet is not organized.

  • Some directory services provide links to sites in subject lists. But there are too many web pages for any single directory service to organize and index.

Most information on the free Internet is not comprehensive. 

  • Rarely will you be able to use a search engine on the web to collect information about your topic from earlier decades and different types of sources. Some well-maintained sites are updated with very current information, but other sites may become quickly dated or disappear altogether without much if any notice

The free Internet can be a good for:

  • learning more about companies and organizations
  • information from the U.S. government 
  • many archives and historical documents are freely available through universities and corporations online
  • finding quick facts
  • catching up with current news
  • gathering opinions of people 
  • connecting to the Library's resources!

2. Characteristics of Library Sources

Library Resources

The Library: Quality vs Quantity

  • Library resources go through a review process.
  • Library resources are free for your use.
  • Library resources are organized and lead to other sources nearby or with links
  • Library resources are meant to be kept for long periods of time.
  • Library resources come with personal assistance!
  • Library resources are in print and online

5. Wikipedia for Research?

Wikipedia for Research?

After evaluating a Wikipedia article (the grade, the comments, the references) use it as any online or print encyclopedia--for background, keywords, and their references or external links. 

How DO I use Wikipedia? 

  • Background research--to get an overview of your topic and find key names, dates, issues, people to use in searching for more information and articles.
  • References list--links to sources, some journals, books, websites. Use and cite these.
  • External links--to other sources and websites that might be useful. Use and cite these.
  • DO cite your Wikipedia article in your Works Cited--when is is a good article--rated "B" or better.

When do I NOT use Wikipedia?

  • When the article has a "bad" grade--below a "B" you shouldn't even look at it!
  • When the actual "good" article is your only source, or your main source!

Wikipedia Disclaimers:

Example