readysetresearch: Geography: Geophysical Hazards

Databases for Research

NOTE! Check each Tab of this Guide for Keywords and Phrases to use when searching for articles, ideas, and information. For databases you need a POWER Library card. If you do not have one get an eCard now!)

POWER Search This link opens in a new window
Search many of the Gale e-resources available in POWER Library in one place! Find articles and information from Academic OneFile, General OneFile, InfoTrac Newsstand.
Environmental Studies and Policy Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and other reference sources covering environmental issues and policies. The database includes diverse perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policymakers, and corporate interests.
GreenFile This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE is a free research database covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Diversity Studies Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that explore cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community. The database is a must-have for social science, history and liberal arts coursework.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Explore encyclopedias and specialized reference sources on a variety of topics from history, government, environment, math, and more!
Ebsco eBooks This link opens in a new window
Over 16,000 e-books, with a focus on nonfiction titles. Easily search for topics.
General Science Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines covering the latest scientific developments. Key subjects covered by the database include biological sciences, computing, engineering, and technology.
Science Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Find science articles, pictures and videos to learn about how things work, how scientists work, and biographies about scientists. There are even lesson plans for teachers. S
Science Reference eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Explore science from over 230 full-text eBooks! This collection of reference titles covers a wide variety of topics such as animals, biology, climate change, computing, engineering, experiments, life science, nature, oceans, physical science, and weather.

Articles & Websites

Natural Hazards Center
U of Colorado Boulder
NASA Earth Observatory: Natural Events
Updated articles, images, links
Science Explorer: Natural Hazards
U.S. Geological Survey. Scroll down and explore within each topic by data, news, images, video, social media, and much more.
more...less...
algal blooms, droughts, earthquake occurrences, earthquake preparedness, earthquake probabilities, earthquake serosion, faulting, fire control, fires, floods, hazard preparedness, hazards, hurricanes, impact cratering, lahars, land subsidence, landslide susceptibility assessment, landslides, liquefaction, magnetic storms, risk assessment, sedimentation, storm surge, storms, tsunamis, volcanic activity, volcanic eruption prediction, volcanoes
NOAA: National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
ReliefWeb: Disasters
Find on the map the ongoing disasters that ReliefWeb is actively monitoring. Or search by Country.

Geography: Geophysical Hazards

Geophysical Hazards

Geophysical Hazards - Key words and phrases (use when searching databases)

Databases for Research

Articles & Websites

Videos to Watch