News - Resources - Organizations - LGBTQ Studies - readysetresearch at ReadySetResearch!

Organizations

ACLU LGBTQ Rights
The ACLU works to ensure that lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, & queer people belong everywhere and can live openly and authentically without discrimination, harassment, or violence.
The Advocate
News, Politics, Business, Trending, Culture, Podcasts
GLAAD
GLAAD was founded in 1985 in response to defamatory and sensationalized news coverage fo the HIV and AIDS epidemic.
GLAD
GLAD, a legal and advocacy organization, was founded in 1978 in response to a sting operation which targeted gay men in Boston.
GLSEN
GLSEN was founded in 1990 by a group of teachers in Massachusetts who came together to improve an education system that too frequently allows its LGBTQ students to be bullied, discriminated against, or fall through the cracks.
GLSEN: Day of Silence
The GLSEN Day of Silence is a national student-led demonstration where LGBTQ students and allies all around the country—and the world—take a vow of silence to protest the harmful effects of harassment and discrimination of LGBTQ people in schools.
Human Rights Campaign
The Human Rights Campaign Fund was founded by in 1980 as one of the first gay and lesbian political action committees in the United States.
Human Rights Watch LGBT Rights
Human Rights Watch works for lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender peoples' rights, and with activists representing a multiplicity of identities and issues. We document and expose abuses based on sexual orientation and gender identity worldwide, including torture, killing and executions, arrests under unjust laws, unequal treatment, censorship, medical abuses, discrimination in health and jobs and housing, domestic violence, abuses against children, and denial of family rights and recognition.
It Gets Better Project
The It Gets Better Project’s mission is to uplift, empower, and connect lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer (LGBTQ+) youth around the globe.
Lambda Legal
Lambda Legal was founded in 1973 as the nation’s first legal organization dedicated to achieving full equality for lesbian and gay people.
LGBT National Help Center
Services provided are always free & confidential. All calls and online services are provided by highly trained LGBTQ volunteers.
LGBTQ Nation
Latest news
LGBTQ Religious Archives
The LGBTQ Religious Archives Network (LGBTQ-RAN) is an innovative venture in preserving history and encouraging scholarly study of lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and queer (LGBTQ) religious movements around the world. LGBTQ-RAN has a two-fold basic purpose.First, it assists LGBTQ religious leaders and groups in determining how best to preserve their records and papers in appropriate repositories. Second, LGBTQ-RAN provides an electronic information clearinghouse for these archival collections and other historical data about LGBTQ religious history for the use of historians, researchers and other interested persons.
Matthew Shepard Foundation
"Erasing Hate for Over 20 Years" Matthew Shepard became the victim of one of the most notorious anti-gay hate crimes in the nation’s history, and his parents, Judy and Dennis, dedicated their lives to strengthening hate crimes law and raising awareness of the violence the LGBTQ+ community faced.
more...less...
Since our formation, the Foundation has helped pioneer the country’s first federal hate crimes legislation with the passing of the Matthew Shepard and James Byrd, Jr. Hate Crimes Prevention Act in 2009 and provided our unique Hate Crimes Prevention Training to over 1,200 law enforcement officers and prosecutors in 38 cities since May 2017.
National Center for Transgender Equality
About Transgender People; Issues; Know Your Rights; Self-Help Guides; Take Action
more...less...
Issues: Aging, Anti-Violence, Employment, Families, Health & HIV, Housing & Homelessness, Identity Documents & Privacy, Immigration, International, Military & Veterans
National Transgender Discrimination Survey, Non-Discrimination Laws, Police, Jails & Prisons, Racial & Economic Justice, Research & Data Needs, Travel, Voting Rights, Youth & Students
NBC Out
NBC Out showcases feature stories, original videos and other unique content about, and of interest to, the lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and queer community.
PFLAG
Founded in 1973 after the simple act of a mother publicly supporting her gay son, PFLAG is the nation's largest family and ally organization.
The Trevor Project
Our trained counselors are here to support you 24/7. If you are a young person in crisis, feeling suicidal, or in need of a safe and judgment-free place to talk, call the TrevorLifeline now at 1-866-488-7386.

Resources and Collections

25 Years of Political Influence: The Records of the Human Rights Campaign
Cornell U.The Human Rights Campaign has worked to support greater equality for LGBT Americans since 1980. The records of the Human Rights Campaign are now open for research at Cornell University.
GLBT Historical Society
The GLBT Historical Society collects, preserves, exhibits and makes accessible to the public materials and knowledge to support and promote understanding of LGBTQ history, culture and arts in all their diversity.
Learning for Justice: Gender & Sexual Identity
Teach the facts about sex assigned at birth, sexual orientation, gender identity and gender expression, and learn how to advocate for LGBTQ youth. Whether you're just becoming familiar with gender diversity or ready to start a gay-straight alliance at your school, our resources can help you and your colleagues shape inclusive policies and empower vulnerable students.
LGBTQ Heritage Theme Study
LGBTQ America: A Theme Study of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer History is a publication of the National Park Foundation for the National Park Service and funded by the Gill Foundation. Each chapter is written and peer-reviewed by experts in LGBTQ Studies.
LGBTQ History
Timeline, student, and educator resources on LGBTQ history from GLSEN.
LGBT Rights Milestones Fast Facts
CNN. Background information about lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender milestones in the United States.
Out History
Fund for the City of New York. OutHistory.org tells stories about people in the past who identified as lesbian, gay, bisexual, or transgender; and people who did not conform to dominant norms of sexuality and gender.
People with a History: An Online Guide to Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Trans* History: Introduction
Internet History Sourcebook. People with a History presents the history of lesbians, gay men, bisexuals and transgendered people [=LGBT]. It includes hundreds of original texts, discussions, and [soon] images, and addresses LGBT history in all periods, and in all regions of the world.

LGBTQ Studies: News - Resources - Organizations

Note!

Organizations

Resources and Collections