Country Studies & The United Nations: Country Studies Websites

CIA The World Factbook provides basic intelligence on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, terrorism, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.

Map out directions

Geography is central to the work of the Census Bureau, providing the framework for survey design, sample selection, data collection, tabulation, and dissemination. Geography provides meaning and context to statistical data.

Canada, United States, Mexico

Sperling's. Compare U.S. cities Cost of Living, Climate, Crime

Legislation, Congressional Record, Committees, Members

Founded in 1933, The Council of State Governments is our nation’s only organization serving all three branches of state government. CSG is a region-based forum that fosters the exchange of insights and ideas to help state officials shape public policy. This offers unparalleled regional, national and international opportunities to network, develop leaders, collaborate and create problem-solving partnerships.

The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.

The Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) is the nation's premier research collection of open-source resources related to homeland security policy, strategy and organizational management. The HSDL is sponsored by the Naval Postgraduate School Center for Homeland Defense and Security and the U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s National Preparedness Directorate, FEMA.

The Office of Justice Programs is a federal agency that provides federal leadership, grants, training, technical assistance and other resources to improve the nation’s capacity to prevent and reduce crime, assist victims and enhance the rule of law by strengthening the criminal and juvenile justice systems. Its six program offices support state and local crime-fighting efforts, fund thousands of victim service programs, help communities manage sex offenders, address the needs of youth in the system and children in danger, and provide vital research and data.

2010. Updated after each 10 year U.S. Census

Court cases, briefs, oral arguments, bar admissions, rules and practices.

Miller Center, UVA

Tons of official publications, reports, information

7th edition. The Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press

The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) annual edition is the codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the departments and agencies of the Federal Government. It is divided into 50 titles that represent broad areas subject to Federal regulation. The 50 subject matter titles contain one or more individual volumes, which are updated once each calendar year, on a staggered basis.

Cornell Law School

As the official handbook of the Federal Government, The United States Government Manual provides information on the agencies of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches. It also includes information on quasi-official agencies; international organizations in which the United States participates; and boards, commissions, and committees. The Manual begins with reprints of the Declaration of Independence and the U.S. Constitution.

These handbooks contain the official policies of USCIS and assist immigration officers in rendering decisions. These handbooks are to be followed by USCIS officers in the performance of their duties but do not remove their discretion in making adjudicatory decisions. The handbooks do not create any substantive or procedural rights or benefits that are legally enforceable by any party against the United States, or its agencies or officers or any other person.

Good illustration of ratings. They rate the news for bias and reliability using a rigorous methodology and a politically balanced team of analysts.

A site that presents news from the right, left, and center perspectives.

Fact-checking, accountability journalism and misinformation coverage from AP journalists around the globe.

U of Michigan Law School. Civil Rights Litigation Clearinghouse is a collection of documents and information about civil rights cases in selected case categories across the United States. For each included case, we have attempted to gather the crucial documents, including: the docket sheet, which indexes the litigation's progress from filing to termination; the complaint, which initiated the litigation; any decrees issued by courts or agreed to by parties; and any published opinions.

A product of the Annenberg Public Policy Center, this site is terrific for checking up on political claims.

Find out where your "news source" is ranked: Extreme Left, Left, Left Center, Center, Right Center, Right, Extreme Right

The Pulitzer Prize-winning Politifact researches the claims of politicians and checks their accuracy. Poynter Institute.

Website with information on controversial topics in society

PRRI’s mission is to help journalists, opinion leaders, scholars, clergy, and the general public better understand debates on public policy issues and the role of religion and values in American public life by conducting high quality public opinion surveys and qualitative research.

U.S. Census Bureau